Awards made by the North Carolina Library Association and its sections/roundtable to those who have served the library profession well or who have demonstrated the potential to do so.  Complete information including criteria and application forms may be obtained from the appropriate section/round table or committee.


Association Awards

NCLA/SIRS Intellectual Freedom Award

A biennial award recognizing the contribution of an individual or a group who has actively promoted intellectual freedom in freedom in North Carolina.  This award is donated by Social Issues Resources Series, Inc., to a recipient selected by the Intellectual Freedom Committee of NCLA.  The award consists of $500 to the award recipient, $500 for materials to the library of the recipient’s choice, and a plaque to the recipient.

The North Carolina Library Association Distinguished Library Service Award

Presented every two years, or when deemed appropriate, to a member of the Association who has made significant contributions to the profession.  Criteria include distinguished service to North Carolina, significant service or other professional contributions provided during either a short or long span of time, and service resulting in a regional or national impact on librarianship in general.  Nominees may include librarians, paraprofessionals and other professionals in the profession and can be awarded posthumously.  This award is administered by the Membership Committee.

Ray Moore Award

Presented to the author of the best article about public librarianship published inNorth Carolina Libraries during the preceding biennium.  The winner of the award is chosen by the Editorial Board of North Carolina Libraries.

Literacy Award


New Members Round Table

Young Librarian Award

A biennial award consisting of $25 and a plaque presented to a young librarian who is making outstanding contributions to the library profession.  Applicants must be members of NCLA, and potential members of NMRT with at least three but no more than ten years of professional library experience including at lest one year of professional library experience in North Carolina.


North Carolina Association of School Librarians

Administrator of the Year Award

An annual award honoring a school administrator for developing an exemplary school library media program and for having made an outstanding and sustained contribution to advancing the role of the school library media center as an agency for the improvement.

Carolyn Palmer Media Coordinator of the Year Award

An annual award honoring a North Carolina school media coordinator who demonstrates professionalism, dedication, and leadership in the school library/media center setting.

Mary Peacock Douglas Award

Presented at each NCASL Biennial Work Conference to recognize a person who has given outstanding and sustained effort in promoting school library development in North Carolina.


Public Library Section

North Carolina Public Library Development Award

A biennial award consisting of $500 and a plaque presented to an individual who has made a significant and innovative contribution to the development of public librarianship in North Carolina.  Nominees must be members of NCLA currently employed in a North Carolina public library.  Projects must have been developed and implemented during the current biennium.

William H. Roberts Public Library Distinguished Service Award

A biennial award consisting of $500 and a plaque to recognize an individual excellence in public librarianship in North Carolina.  Nominees may be a library leader or an unsung hero/heroine in public libraries.


Resources and Technical Services Section

Doralyn Joanne Hickey “Best Article” Award

A biennial award of $200 presented to the author of the best article on technical services published in North Carolina Libraries during the biennium.

Resources and Technical Services Section Significant Contribution Award

A biennial award of $200 given to a librarian who has made significant contribution to his or her institution or to the profession.  At least part of the applicant’s current work must involve an aspect of technical services, the applicant must work in North Carolina and must be nominated by a current members of NCLA.

Resources and Technical Services Section Student Award.

Any student actively enrolled in library education or pursuing a career in the library field is eligible for this $200 award.  The student must be intending to pursue a career in technical services and a demonstrable potential for contribution in the field.


Round Table for Ethnic Minority Concerns

Roadbuilder Award

A biennial award established by the round Table for Ethnic Minority Concerns to recognize an ethnic minority librarian, living or deceased, who has worked in North Carolina at least five years, has made a significant contribution to the field of librarianship/information services, has established a record of accomplishment, service, and dedication, and serves as a role model for practicing and minority librarians and as an incentive for prospective minority librarians.


Round Table on the Status of Women in Librarianship

Marilyn L. Miller Award for Professional Commitment

A biennial award in the amount of $200 and plaque given in recognition of a professional librarian in North Carolina who has provided outstanding leadership and service in furthering the status of women in librarianship, the mission of the library community, and/or the support of women colleagues in the workplace.